Kenai Peninsula Borough

The Kenai Peninsula Borough was incorporated in 1964. The responsibilities of the Borough’s government are comparable to that of a county. Kenai, Soldotna, Homer, Seldovia and Seward are the five first-class cities that help make up the borough. Other communities include Kachemak City, Tyonek, Port Graham and Nanwalek.

The Kenai Peninsula Borough lies directly south of Anchorage. The south and east of the Kenai Peninsula Borough is bordered by the water of the Gulf of Alaska and Prince William Sound. The Chigmit Mountains of the Alaska Range border the west side of KPB. The Kenai Peninsula Borough is divided into two land masses by the Cook Inlet. The Kenai Peninsula makes up about 99% of the population of the KPB. Across the Cook Inlet to the west side of the borough is very sparsely inhabited. The village of Tyonek is the most inhabited settlement on that side of the Kenai Peninsula Borough. The boundaries of the borough are a total of 25,600 square miles, 15,700 square miles of that is land. The total land mass of the Kenai Peninsula Borough equals that of Massachusetts and New Jersey combined! However, the total borough population is less than 1/400th of that same area.

The Kenai Peninsula has the most diverse economy in the state of Alaska. Major industries like oil and gas, commercial fishing and tourism remain strong on the peninsula. Exploration, extraction, storage, processing/manufacturing and transportation are what make up the oil and gas industry.

Five species of salmon, halibut, and three types of crab, shrimp, clams, scallops, herring and various ground fish are traditionally what makes up the commercial harvest and processing of fish in the Kenai Peninsula Borough.

The fasted growing industry in the borough is tourism. The Kenai Peninsula Tourism Marking Council, which was created in 1991, enjoys widespread membership.

Real Estate Websites by Cherie Young